

To advocate for the success of our members in partnership with our local Associations and the National Association of REALTORS®

General Membership Meeting Thursday, September 12, 2019 3:30 p.m. Deadwood Mountain Grand Events Center Deadwood, SD

Board of Directors Present: Amy Hullet, President; Jill Lee, President-Elect; Mary Shelkey-Miller, Vice President: Nicole Schoeder, Director-At-Large; Daryl Braham, NAR Director; Vicki Roller, NAR Director; Michael Schwab, Desri Neether, Darren Schmidt, Joy Nelson, Kristin Oban, Karin Haskell, Vicky Matson, Shawn Ostlie, Nick Olson, Emily Johnson, Chris Feickert, Shane Cullen, Amber Carlton, Ryan Mullikin, Jodi Danzl, Phil Vanyo, RuthAnn Halvorson, Sally Domke, Lisa Olson, Tamie Dunn and Heather Kitzman.

Staff: Jill Beck, Dawn Watson and Robyn O'Gorman

Members Present: Scott Breidenbach, Roger Cymbaluk, ND Real Estate Commissioner; Casey Chapman, NDAR General Counsel; Al Jaeger, ND Secretary of State; Chris Feickert, Scot Nething, Beth Mayer, Marti Kaiser, Mitzi Bestall, Cindy Harvey, JoAnn Callahan, Nicole Billings, Sarah Schroeder, Kristi Hardy, Jamie McLean, Shari Anhorn, Amber Kraft, Lorrie Nantt, Sharon Lunski, Kenny Parcell, Kevin Sears, Tanya Keck, Patsy Chapman, Heidi Hilzendeger, John Colvin, Tate Cymbaluk, Shirley Dukart, Kari Donner, Tammie Braun, Angela Haverluk, Scott Louser, Judy Masklowski, Nancy Deichert and Mary Splichal.

- 1. Amy Hullet, President, called the meeting to order.
- 2. Minutes from the September 13, 2018 General Membership Meeting were approved as distributed. $\mathbf{M/S/C}$
- 3. Election of Officers: Hullet said per NDAR Bylaws, Jill Lee, President-elect automatically ascends to President. Mary Shelkey Miller, candidate for President-elect, is running unopposed. Hullet presented the slate of candidates for Vice President. They are Shawn Ostlie and Phil Vanyo, both on the NDAR Board of REALTORS®. Both gave a brief talk on why they are running.

Hullet then suspended the meeting to allow members who had not yet voted by absentee ballot to vote. Members voted. The Balloting Task Force - Lorrie Nantt, Mitzi Bestall and Robyn O'Gorman were asked to take the ballots and count as the meeting continued. After ballots were counted Hullet announced that Shawn Ostlie would be the new NDAR Vice President for 2020.



4. Board of Director's Meeting

- a.) Hullet recognized and congratulated Desri Neether as this year's REALTOR® of the Year recipient.
- b.) Hullet introduced Secretary of State, Al Jaeger. Al was a guest at the annual meeting and spoke to the membership and he personally thanked each one of the members for their support with the RPAC contributions last year that supported legislation.
- c.) Hullet mentioned that they were 550 people in attendance at this year's Convention of the Dakotas. 250 of the attendees were from North Dakota.
- d.) Hullet announced that Daryl Braham, NDAR National Director from KW Inspire Realty Fargo, ND announced his intent to run for NAR President. Braham gave a short speech and asked the membership for their support.
- e.) Hullet announced that the 2020 Dakotas Convention will be held in Grand Forks, ND at the Alerus Center September 16-18, 2020.
- f.) Hullet announced that the registration for the 2019 REALTORS® Conference & Expo is now open. The conference will be held in San Francisco November 8-11, 2019.
- g.) RPAC Recognition Amy Hullet thanked all of those who have invested in RPAC. Karin Haskell also thanked everyone for RPAC/ISSUES Investments. Haskell mentioned that NDAR is so close to their annual goal. She encouraged all boards to work towards their boards goals. They also showed jackets that Major Investors will receive. They are one of a kind and will have the RPAC 50th logo as well as the NDAR 75th logo. Jackets will only be available to Major Investors.
- h.) Scott Breidenbach member and chair of the ND Real Estate Commission, (NDREC) shared comments and updates from NDREC. He also thanked NDAR for their support and cooperation and invited all to attend their meetings.
- i.) NAR updates were given and previous meeting due to timing of NAR officers arrival.
- j.) John Colter introduced Ben Olson from Grand Forks who was the recipient of the Bob Freeberg Convention Scholarship. Ben encouraged everyone to go back to their local boards and reach out to new members and encourage and mentor them.
- k.) Member Involvement Hullet thanked those currently involved in leadership and committees and encouraged others to do so at all three levels.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Dawn Watson, NDAR staff