

To advocate for the success of our members in partnership with our local Associations and the National Association of REALTORS®

General Membership Meeting Thursday, September 13, 2018 3:30 p.m. Kevske Room, Grand Hotel Minot, ND

Present: Ben Schroeder, President; Amy Hullet, President-Elect; Jill Kjorstad, Vice President, Jamie McLean, Director-At-Large; Daryl Braham, NAR Director; Vicki Roller, NAR Director; Nicole Schoeder; Tricia Schlosser; Judy Maslowski; Desri Neether; Darren Schmidt; Mary Shelkey-Miller; Amber Carlton; Jodi Tollefson; Jodi Danzl; Chris Feickert; Emily Johnson; Vicky Matson; Shawn Ostlie; LuAnn White; Lynda Hartmann; Ruth Ann Halvorson; Shari Anhorn; Lisa Olson; Ryan Mullikin and Mitzi Bestall.

Guests: Roger Cymbaluk, ND Real Estate Commissioner; Jeanne Prom, ND Real Estate Commission Executive Director; Robert Yost, ND Real Estate Commission Auditor; Casey Chapman, NDAR General Counsel; Al Jaeger, ND Secretary of State; John Colter; Nancy Deichert; Marti Kaiser; Beth Mayer; Scot Nething; Nick Olson; Arlin Fisher; Kevin Fisher; Dawn Cruff; Lorrie Nantt; Mary Splichal; Cheryl Croonquist; Scott Breidenbach; David Blumkin; Phil Vanyo; Karin Haskell; Rita Schuster; Todd Fettig; Tamie Dunn; Sue Heth; Scott Louser; Larry Louser; Diane Louser; Tate Cymbaluk; Angie Moe; Arnie Kosobud; Shane Cullen; Chris Hall; Steven Hall; Nick Leavy; Cyndi Kouba; Greg Larson; Kristin Oban; Kathy Feist; JoAnn Callahan; Blake Krabseth; Sally Domke; Derrick Rittenbach; Pamela Hanson; Brenda Schafer; Jeff White; Lindsey Gunderson; Mike Schwab; Holly Riggins; Sandra Meyer; Amber Kraft; Alyx Pederson; Gloria Palm Conner; Amber Lewis; Carol Simenson; Ninetta Wandler; Dave Flohr. Cody TrustFunds

Staff: Jill Beck, Jane Marum, Robyn O'Gorman

1. Ben Schroeder, President, called the meeting to order.

2. Minutes from the September 14, 2017 General Membership Meeting were approved as distributed. M/S/C

3. Election of Officers: Schroeder said per NDAR Bylaws, Amy Hullet, President-elect automatically ascends to President. Jill Kjorstad, candidate for President-elect, is running unopposed. Schroeder presented the slate of candidates for Vice President. They are Mary Shelkey Miller and Jamie McLean, both Bismarck Mandan Board of REALTORS®. Schroeder asked that it be moved by unanimous ballot to elect Jill Kjorstad for 2019 President-elect. It was so moved. **M/S/C**



Schroeder then suspended the meeting to allow members who had not yet voted by absentee ballot to vote. Members voted. The Balloting Task Force (Mitzi Bestall, Chris Feickert, Robyn O'Gorman) were asked to take the ballots and count as the meeting continued.

4. RPAC Recognition – Schroeder thanked all of those who have invested in RPAC. RPAC Hall of Fame (\$10,000 lifetime investments) recognition awards were given by Schroeder to Tate Cymbaluk, Roger Cymbaluk and Ninetta Wandler.

5. No NAR Update was presented as this was done during the just concluded Board of Directors Meeting.

6. No 2019 Dakotas Convention Invite was made as this was done during the just concluded Board of Directors Meeting.

7. NDAR 360:

Jill Beck: Reminder – don't use the word "hiring" in your advertisements as that may jeopardize independent contractor status of REALTORS®.

Jane Marum: Skipio (texting platform) status - Staff attended orientation and are ready to use it after it is determined how to develop an opt-in procedure.

Shane Cullen: Member Benefits – Taxbot, an expense tracking system, is a valuable tool for members and those who use it really like it; Apply Connect, a tenant screening program is underused by members so take advantage of it; HotelStorm offers discounts on hotel rooms. The discount is particularly good if you reserve close to the date the room is needed. TechHelpline is a fantastic IT resource for members.

Amy Hullet: Member Involvement – thanked those currently involved in leadership and committees and encouraged others to do so at all three levels.

Jamie McLean: Wire Fraud – it is becoming more frequent in our area. Jamie encourage use of the Wire Fraud Advisory form created by NDAR for members.

Jill Kjorstad: REALTOR® Safety – Basic safety reminders were given and the app, Life 360, was recommended.

Roger Cymbaluk: REC update – commended staff on new processes and office system updates; Diane Louser was recognized for her length of service and contributions to the Commission; the new website is up and user-friendly; all were reminded to read the newsletter for information. Robert Yost was introduced as the new Auditor with the Commission.

Ben Schroeder: AE's have met and recommended developing state wide forms. Casey Chapman is currently doing a review of all local board forms and will create a draft from that.

The ballot committee returned and Schroeder reported that Mary Shelkey Miller was elected Vice President for 2019. Shelkey Miller was congratulated by all.

Cody Osegard: TrustFunds update (Member benefit) – The company has been in existence three-and-a-half years and since then \$40,000 of earnest money transactions have taken place. The process was briefly described and Cody answered questions.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane Marum and Jill Beck, NDAR Staff