

To advocate for the success of our members in partnership with our local Associations and the National Association of REALTORS ®

## Minutes Member Involvement Committee October 24, 2017 10:00 a.m. Missouri Room, Holiday Inn, Bismarck, ND

Present: Cheryl Croonquist, Chair, Shane Cullen, Vice Chair, Jill Kjorstad, Director Liaison, Todd Anhorn, Past Chair, Ninetta Wandler, Karin Haskell, Kristin Oban, Mary Splichal, Amber Carlton, Deborah Nichols, Dewey Uhlir, Lynda Hartmann, Nick Leavy, Shari Timms, Diann Loper, Shari Anhorn, Sue Heth, Judy Hoskin, Kristi Sagaser, Vicki Roller, Amber Kraft, Andrea Savelkoul, David Blumkin, Greg Larson

Absent with Prior Notice: Chris Feichert, Vicky Matson, Jodi Tollefson, Amy Hullet

Absent: Tricia Schlosser, Christine Hall, Sarah Stock, Debbie Brumfield, Candi Steidler, Lorrie Nantt

Guests: Mitzi Bestall, Ruth Ann Halvorson, Scot Nething, John Colter, Lyn Dwyer, Ben Schroeder, Mary Shelkey Miller

Staff: Jane Marum, Jill Beck, Nancy Willis

Cheryl Croonquist, Chair, called the meeting to order. Welcome and introductions were made.

The Committee Purpose was reviewed.

Minutes from the June 20, 2017 meeting were approved as presented. M/S/C

**Desktop Reference Guide Task Force Update:** Todd Anhorn reported that the group recently held a conference call and they will meet on November 14<sup>th</sup> in Bismarck to continue their work with the goal to have the Guide finalized by the end of the year.

## **Member Benefits:**

<u>ApplyConnect</u> - The paperwork has been sent in to get the program started. An email blast will be sent to the membership when it is up and running.

<u>Lonric Videos</u> – A sample video was reviewed. After discussion, group consensus was reached to not pursue the Lonric video program. Alternatively, a task force was suggested. Shari Anhorn and Kristi Sagasar volunteered to be on it to look into more cost-effective video options.

<u>TrustFunds</u> – Jill Kjorstad reported that the program is being implemented in stages with two boards now, two boards next month and the last two in January. Boards are being contacted about this now. Lyn added that TrustFunds will be presented at the NAR Annual Convention as one of five state board "Best Ideas."

**REALTOR® Ring Day:** The 2017 North Dakota REALTOR® Ring day is on Friday, December 1<sup>st</sup>. A suggested Proclamation was provided for boards to present to their city government. It was also requested of the Governor to proclaim Dec 1 as ND REALTOR® Ring Day.



**Communicating the Value of REALTORS®:** Information was provided on NAR's Ad Center which allows associations to access general promotional materials and customization of promotional materials is limited to state or local association staff per guidelines. Members of the Minot Association of REALTORS® added that their t-shirt promo campaign has been effective.

**ND REALTOR® Safety Day** - Group consensus was reached that REALTOR® safety needs to be an ongoing educational issue. September is REALTOR® Safety Month within the industry. Jill Kjorstad described the safety program being developed in her county with the hope that it will expand to State Radio. Additional suggestions included: a system of text alerts, increased broker involvement and ongoing personal safety courses. It was noted that if there is a safety concern for REALTORS®, such notification should come from law enforcement so as not to create a defamation issue.

**Fair Housing Act 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary in 2018:** Jill will get ideas on what other states are doing and also encouraged working with ND Housing Finance Agency on this.

**Strategic Plan Review:** Group consensus was reached that all Goals and Objectives have either been met or are being worked on.

**Updated Advertising Q & A from ND RE Commission:** A Q & A on NDAC §70-02-03-02.1 was updated to clarify the rule.

**Other Business**: As Region 8 Vice President, Dewey Uhlir is encouraging communication and collaboration between NAR and state committees and the association.

Ben reported that the 2018 Planning Retreat will be held December 7-8 in Fargo.

President Lyn acknowledged and thanked Cheryl Croonquist, Chair, for her 2017 leadership service. Lyn also recognized the entire committee for the work they have done during the year.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jane Marum Administrative and Membership Services Director