

2016 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Cindy Harvey, CRS, CRB, ABR, ePro

> PRESIDENT ELECT Lyn Dwyer, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT Ben Schroeder

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Lorrie Nantt, ABR, SFR

> PAST PRESIDENT Greg Larson, GRI

NATIONAL DIRECTORS Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT James Cormier

LOCAL BOARD REPS <u>Badlands:</u> Shirley Dukart, CRS,GRI Ninetta Wandler, ABR, CRS, GRI

> <u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Amy Hullet Kristin Oban, GRI, SFR Judy Maslowski Tricia Schlosser, CRB, GRI

Fargo-Moorhead: Kevin Fisher, CRS, GRI Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS Shawn Ostlie, GRI Jodi Tollefson, GRI LuAnn White Christine Feickert, GRI

<u>Grand Forks:</u> David Blumkin, ABR, CRS, GRI Lynda Hartmann, GRI

> Jamestown: Kristy Sagaser

> > <u>Minot:</u> Sue Heth Brad Livesay

> > > 5.

<u>Williston:</u> Jill Kjorstad, GRI, SFR

STAFF: Jill Beck, Chief Executive Officer Jill@ndrealtors.com Jane Marum, Admin/Membership Services Director jane@ndrealtors.com Robyn O'Gorman, Admin Assistant robyn@ndrealtors.com

Nancy Willis, *Gov't Affairs Director*



North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

2016 Annual Membership Meeting Thursday, September 15, 2016 3:00 PM Holiday Inn, Fargo ND

Present: Brad Livesay, Jill Kjorstad, Amy Hullet, Peggy Isakson, Sue Heth, Lynda Hartmann, Kevin Fisher, Dave Blumkin, Shirley Dukart, Christine Feickert, Cindy Harvey, Lyn Dwyer, Ben Schroeder, Lorrie Nantt, Greg Larson, Daryl Braham, Dewey Uhlir, Judy Maslowski, Shawn Ostlie, Mary Shelkey-Miller, Kristy Sagaser, Kristin Oban, Jodi Tollefson, Ninetta Wandler, John Colter, Marti Kaiser, Nancy Deichert, Barb Lupo, Casey Chapman, Al Jaeger, Brenda Martinson, Vicki Roller, Mary Splichal, Ron Volk, Arlene Volk, Amber Kraft, Amy Pederson, Jen Cook, Shari Anhorn, Brenda Schafer, Arnie Kosobod, Shane Cullen, Emily Johnson, Tamie Dunn, Diann Loper, Todd Anhorn, Roger Cymbaluk, Rita Schuster, Dave Lanpher, Kathy Hammer, Terri Benson-Holmstrom, Heidi Hilzendeger, Phyllis Rittenbach, Scott Louser, Jamie McLean, Vicky Matson, Jeff Botnen, Diane Duchscher, Sharon Lunski, Patsy Chapman, Clyde Thorne, Steve Lunde, Mitzi Bestall, Deborah Nichols, Cornelius Kooren, Cheryl Croonquist, Phillip Vanyo, Karin Haskell and Larry Louser.

Guests: Chris Polychron, NAR Immediate Past President Staff: Jane Marum, Nancy Willis, Jill Beck

- 1. Cindy Harvey called the meeting to order.
- Harvey asked for a motion to approve the September 17, 2015 meeting minutes. A motion and second were made to that effect. The motion was approved. M/S/C
- 3. Harvey moved the #7 agenda item up to #3. Andrea Holinka, Aberdeen (SD) Area Association of REALTORS®, read a resolution inviting all to attend the 2017 Convention of the Dakotas in Aberdeen, SD. Theme will be "Lights, Camera, Action" as every REALTOR® is a star. Harvey asked for a motion to approve the resolution. A motion and second were made to that effect and the motion was passed. M/S/C
- 4. Harvey moved the #6 agenda item to #4. Chris Polychron, 2015 NAR President, thanked all those who contribute to RPAC and praised them for their support of advocacy efforts. He then asked all Major Investors to stand and be recognized. Polychron then proceeded to announce the three NDAR members who, because of aggregate contributions of \$10,000 each, were 2016 inductees into the NDAR RPAC Hall of Fame. They are: Kevin Fisher-FMAAR, Jodi Tollefson-FMAAR and Amy Hullet-BMBOR. Polychron congratulated each of them while presenting each a glass trophy and photos were taken.
 - Harvey called Greg Larson, Nominating Committee Chair to the podium. Larson said that per NDAR Bylaws, Lyn Dwyer, President-Elect would become President and asked for a motion for a unanimous ballot to elect Ben

Schroeder, President-Elect as he was unopposed. A motion and second were made to that effect and the motion passed. **M/S/C**

Larson then presented the slate of candidates for Vice President. They were Amy Hullet, BMBOR and Lorrie Nantt, BBOR. Harvey then suspended the meeting to allow members who had not yet voted by absentee ballot to vote. Members voted.

Harvey requested a motion to approve John Colter, Grand Forks; Sue Heth, Minot and Shane Cullen, Fargo, to be the Ballot Committee to count the ballots. A motion was made and seconded to that effect. The motion passed. **M/S/C**

6. Larson then reviewed the Bylaws changes that were proposed and had been sent out previously to the membership. Members had not voted for the Bylaws changes when they voted for officers and the Bylaws require changes to be voted upon by membership, unless membership votes not to do so. A motion was made to allow the membership to approve the Bylaws' changes by voice vote. The motion received a second. The motion passed. M/S/C

Larson then asked for a motion to approve the Bylaws changes as recommended. Those changes are:

- (1) Article II Membership-Section 1, E. and F change "Affiliate Member" to "Business Partners" and update the name of the Member Services Committee
- (2) Article III Dues update the policy for NAR and Institute Affiliate Members NAR now collects dues and distributes to locals and states
- (3) Article IV Officers change title "Executive Vice President" to "Chief Executive Officer"
- (4) Article V Board of Directors, update current title references
- (5) Article VI, A. Absentee Ballots allows for General Membership meetings to be held in addition to the annual meeting held at convention.
- (6) Article VII Committees, Section 1(b) MLS as a Committee of an All REALTOR® Board is deleted to update the Bylaws per a vote by the Board of Directors to dissolve the statewide MLS.
- (7) Article XVII-Dissolution, Section 1. Dissolution, changes the entity to which remaining assets would be distributed to an account at the North Dakota Community Foundation from the North Dakota Real Estate Education Foundation, Inc., which no longer exists.
 A motion was made and seconded. The motion passed. M/S/C

The ballot committee returned and Larson reported that Amy Hullet, BMBOR, Bismarck, was elected Vice President for 2017. Hullet was congratulated by all.

7. Harvey then asked Jenny Schuster, 2014 Good Neighbor Award Recipient to come to the podium to present the 2016 Award. Schuster recognized past Good Neighbor honorees, Jeff Botnen (2012) and Randy Clark (2010). Schuster then gave a brief history of the award and its criteria and read a passage about those who give selflessly for causes. Schuster then announced the 2016 nominees: Mitzi Bestall, Williston; Chris Feickert and Tyrone Leslie, Fargo and Diann Loper, Jamestown.

Schuster then announced the recipient of the 2016 Good Neighbor Award as Diann Loper of Jamestown. Diann was congratulated by all. She thanked everyone and said her cause, "Relay for Life," was a very personal cause because two of her siblings and one of her children had died of cancer and her husband and grandson currently are battling cancer. She thanked everyone for the award.

8. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.