

## 2013 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

*PRESIDENT* Scott Breidenbach, GRI

PRESIDENT ELECT Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT Greg Larson, GRI

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Cindy Harvey, ABR, CRS, ePro, SRES

PAST PRESIDENT Diana Zietz, ABR, CRS, GRI, SFR

> NATIONAL DIRECTORS Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

> *LOCAL BOARD REPS* <u>*Badlands:*</u> Lorrie Nantt, ABR, SFR

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Kristi Bohl, GRI Bob Johnson, GRI Dennis Kaiser, GRI Mary Shelkey Miller, SFR, GRI, SRES, ABR

> Fargo-Moorhead: Kevin Fisher, CRS, GRI Jeff Shipley, GRI Todd Anhorn Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS Bob Lee, ePRO, GRI, SFR DeAnne Mason, GRI

<u>Grand Forks:</u> David Blumkin, ABR, CRS, GRI Weezie Potter, ABR, GRI Laurel Haake, GRI

> Jamestown: Alison Schumann

<u>Minot:</u> Ashleigh Collins Danette Krumwiede

<u>Wahpeton-Breckenridge:</u> Steve Diederick, GRI, CRS

<u>Williston:</u> Kassie Groder

STAFF: Jill Beck, Chief Executive Officer Jill@ndrealtors.com

Suzanne Wetz, Member Services/Communication Director Suzanne@ndrealtors.com

Robyn O'Gorman, Admin Assistant robyn@ndrealtors.com

Claus Lembke, Gov't Affairs Director Claus@ndrealtors.com



North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

Minutes Political Affairs June 12, 2013 Bismarck, ND

Present: Greg Larson, Kevin Fisher, Laurel Haake, Bob Lee, Connie Osowski, Vicki Roller, Todd Fettig, Linda Hixson Maixner, Dewey Uhlir, Lorrie Nantt, Mike Swartz, Arlene Volk, Ron Volk, Jeff Shipley, Diane Duchscher, Tate Cymbaluk, Weezie Potter, Mary Splichal, Sharon Lunski, Dennis Kaiser, Jerry Youngberg, Dennis Messmer, Joe Sheehan

Absent: Daryl Braham, Ben Hanson, Thomas Beadle, Linda Bunde, Ginny Corwin, Shirley Dukart, Jack Kavaney, Jerry Schlosser, Diana Zietz, Tab Thompson, David Lanpher, Shelly Zach, Gary Kramlich, Scott Louser, Ninetta Wandler

Guests: Scott Breidenbach, Larry Louser, John Colter, Barb Lupo, Nancy Deichert, Mary Shelkey Miller, Cindy Harvey, Amy Hullet, Judy Gehrke, Marti Kaiser, Pat Jergenson, Todd Anhorn, DeAnne Mason

Staff: Claus Lembke, Jill Beck, Suzanne Wetz

Chair Greg called the meeting to order and introductions were made.

The minutes from the February 5, 2013 meeting were approved. M/S/C

The committee's job description and 2013 goals were reviewed.

Re-Presentation of Claus Lembke Political Involvement Award - Greg Larson, Political Affairs chair presented Tate Cymbaluk, Williston, the award. He was named the award winner at the state February meetings but could not attend so it is being re-presented.

NAR Updates - Karl Eckhart from NAR called and gave a report on federal legislative issues. Some of the issues he updated the committee on were flood insurance, immigration, and tax reform.

Mobile App – NAR has started a free, downloadable app for the Apple smart phone. They are doing testing for the Droid smart phone.

Transfer Tax Ban Initiative Update - Chair Greg Larson gave an update about the Transfer Tax Ban Initiative. Staff will be working with NAR to get funding to help get the Initiative on the November 2014 ballot.

2013 Legislative Update - Claus Lembke and Greg Larson gave the Legislative Update. NDAR closely monitored 70 plus bills this session and took a position of support on 15 of these bills. Those 15 bills were discussed. Property and income tax were discussed in depth. Chairman Larson passed around a sheet concerning Property Tax Savings under HB 1013 and SB 2036.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted, Suzanne R. Wetz Membership/Communications Director