

2010 **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

PRESIDENT Rita Schuster, ABR, CRS, GRI

> PRESIDENT ELECT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT Diana Zietz, ABR, CRS, GRI

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

PAST PRESIDENT Dave Lanpher, ABR, CRS, ePRO, GRI

> NATIONAL DIRECTORS Tate Cymbaluk Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Andy Mahowald, CRS, GRI

> LOCAL BOARD REPS Badlands: Becky Thorpe, GRI

Bismarck-Mandan: Greg Larson, GRI Lynnell Strothman, CRS, GRI Doug Schonert, GRI

Fargo-Moorhead: Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS LuAnn White, ABR, CRS Scott Breidenbach, GRI Lyn Dwyer, GRI Bob Lee, GRI Stephanie Sarabakhsh, ABR, GRI

> Grand Forks: Mavis Winkels, CRS, GRI Jim Dunavan, CRS, GRI

> > Jamestown: Tish Johnson

Minot: Wade Williamson, ABR Marsha Mugaas, ABR, CRS, GRI

> Wahpeton-Breckenridge: Donna Keogh, CRS

> > Williston: Kim Visser, SFR

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT Jill Beck Jill@ndrealtors.com

> EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT Moni Krantz Moni@ndrealtors.com

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS DIRECTOR Claus Lembke Claus@ndrealtors.com

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Suzanne Wetz Suzanne@ndrealtors.com

North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 - Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

Political Affairs Committee October 6, 2010

- Present: Greg Larson, Diane Duchscher, Jason Hanson, Cindy Cooper, Linda Hixson-Maixner, Joel Maixner, Vicki Roller, Mary Splichal, Arlene Volk, Ron Volk, Bob Lee, Stephanie Sarabakhsh, Dewey Uhlir, Connie Osowski, Jerry Youngberg, Norm Aldinger, Denise Messmer, Scott Louser, Diana Zietz
- Absent: Jerry Schlosser, Steve Lunde, Ninetta Wandler, Jack Kavaney, Joe Sheehan, Elsie Johnson, Cindi Kouba, Sharon Lunski, Jennifer Hogue, Gary Kramlich, Steve Diederick, Tate Cymbaluk
- Guests: Pat Jergenson, Rita Schuster, Karin Haskell, DeLynn Weishaar, Todd Anhorn, Carol Simenson, Kerry Carpenter, Naomi Murphy, Tammie Braun, Becky Thorpe, Lynnell Strothman, Shirley Dukart, Cat Yokom, Scott Breidenbach, Alexa Louser, Lyn Dwyer, LuAnn White, Dave Branson, Donna Keogh, Larry Louser, Wade Williamson, Nancy Deichert, Carrie Montoya, Perry Weekes, Marsha Mugaas, Casey Chapman

Staff: Claus Lembke, Jill Beck

Chair Elect Greg Larson called the meeting to order and introductions were made.

Minutes from June 8, 2010 were approved as presented. (M/S/C)

Greg Larson encouraged more companies to enroll in the Broker Involvement Program. ND currently has 41 signed up.

The committee reviewed a proposed Public Policy statement. Greg presented each item and encouraged discussion and questions. Diane Duchscher pointed out that this policy can and should be used by RPAC committees and help in their decisions of which candidates to support. The following changes were suggested:

- 5.3 replace "homes" with "real property"
- 8.1 replace "handicap" with "disability"; "familial status" with "marital 0 status"; "source of income" with "receipt of public assistance"
- 10.2 replace "agent" with "broker" 0

A motion was made to recommend adoption of this Public Policy statement by the Board of Directors with the changes listed above. (M/S/C)

Casey Chapman reviewed the procedures for brokers with disputed earnest monies (see attached email). He also handed out a clause that is being used by the Bismarck Mandan Board.

Claus Lembke, Government Affairs Director, presented possible issues to come before the 2011 Legislative session.

- Roundtable Issues agreed upon:
 - Private Transfer Fee introduce law to oppose
 - Fenced Hunting send a request to Issues Mobilization Committee asking for dollars to oppose this initiated measure

- Property Tax Relief support current tax relief to be continued and apply for all real properties
- Issues under review:
 - Request CLUE reports to be available more than 5-10 years
 - Imputed knowledge to broker we are reviewing the need for any change in the law
 - Appraiser shortage and delay of getting it done staff will research possible solutions
 - Auctioneers to have a real estate license if selling real estate. The Real Estate Commission is reviewing this issue and the Political Affairs Committee expects to support whatever the Commission is trying to change (nothing is contemplated for the 2011 session at this time).

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Claus Lembke, Government Affairs Director