

North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011

www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

2012

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT

Diana Zietz, ABR, CRS, GRI, SFR

PRESIDENT ELECT Scott Breidenbach, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Cindi Kouba, ABR, CRS, GRI

> PAST PRESIDENT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

NATIONAL DIRECTORS Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Jo Jenkins, CRB, CRS

LOCAL BOARD REPS

<u>Badlands:</u>
Susie Lefor, GRI

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Dennis Kaiser, GRI Kristi Bohl, GRI Doug Schonert, GRI

Lynnell Strothman, CRS, GRI

Fargo-Moorhead:
Todd Anhorn
Kevin Fisher, CRS, GRI
Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS
LuAnn White, ABR, CRS
Bob Lee, ePRO, GRI, SFR
Vivian Thingelstad

Grand Forks: Laurel Haake, GRI David Blumkin, ABR, CRS, GRI Jim Dunavan, CRS, GRI

> <u>Jamestown:</u> Donna Higginbotham

> > <u>Minot:</u> Todd Fettig Ashleigh Collins

<u>Wahpeton-Breckenridge:</u> Jared Miller

> <u>Williston:</u> Linda Novak, SFR

STAFF: Jill Beck, Chief Executive Officer Jill@ndrealtors.com

Suzanne Wetz, Executive Assistant suzanne@ndrealtors.com

Claus Lembke, Gov't Affairs Director Claus@ndrealtors.com

Julie Schirado, Admin Assistant julie@ndrealtors.com

Minutes

Political Affairs Minutes

August 22, 2012

Quality Inn, Jamestown

Present: Greg Larson, Dave Lanpher, Vicki Roller, Laurel Haake, Scott Louser, Shelly Zach, Ginny Corwin

Online/Conference call: Linda Hixson-Maixner, Denise Messmer, Connie Osowski, Joe Sheehan, Dewey Uhlir, Jerry Youngberg, Diane Duchscher, Sharon Lunski, Mary Splichal, Mavis Winkels

Absent: Jerry Schlosser, Tate Cymbaluk, Shirley Dukart, Dave Hoerner, Jack Kavaney, Gary Kramlich, Bob Lee, Neal Messer, Rep Thomas Beadle, Clyde Thorne, Arlene Volk, Ron Volk

Guests: Judy Gehrke, Nancy Deichert, Jon Godfread, Jeff Weispfenning, John Colter, DeAnn Mason, Todd Anhorn, Scott Breidenbach, Kevin Fisher, Donna Meidinger, Dennis Kaiser, Diann Loper, Pat Jergenson, Mike McEown

Staff: Jill Beck, Suzanne Wetz, Claus Lembke

Chair Greg Larson called the meeting to order. Committee members and guests were introduced.

Minutes from the December June 13, 2012 meeting were reviewed and approved as presented. M/S/C

Conservation Measure - Presentation of Pros/Cons - Jeff Weispfenning with the North Dakota Clean Water, Lands, and Outdoor Heritage Amendment, and Jon Godfread with the ND Chamber gave presentations to the group. Each side was given 15 minutes to present their information. At the end of each presentation, 5 minutes of questions were allowed. Then after each presenter was finished, 15 minutes were given for additional questions.

The committee recommended to the Board of Directors to oppose the ND Clean Water, Lands, and Outdoor Heritage Amendment and to join the People First Coalition. The reasons the committee opposed the measure was because it lacks control, it is in a loosely written format, the lack of accountability, the amount of money, and it changes the constitution. M/S/C unanimously

Transfer Tax Prohibition Expectations – NAR Representatives Walt Witek, Bill Malkasion, and Joe Goode gave a PowerPoint presentation on the transfer tax legislation. Scott Louser also contributed some information concerning this legislation. After discussion, the committee made a motion to allow NAR and the consulting firm to poll the membership about the transfer fee and if need be, the citizens will be polled. M/S/C

Good Funds Legislation - Minot, Williston, Dickinson, and Bismarck are all still having issues with the good funds bill. A suggestion was made to have a representative from the Land and Title association attend a future meeting and bring up some of the issues boards are seeing.

Property Tax Reduction Proposals - Claus Lembke went over a few proposals of possible property tax legislation. A property tax reform task force was set-up to come up with some other possibilities for reform. The task force is Diane Ducscher (Dickinson), Fargo will come up with someone, and Bismarck will come up with someone. They are to use Scott Louser as a reference.

A brief break was taken. Members re-joining the meeting conference call were Rita Schuster (guest), Sharon Lunski, Diane Duchscher, Denise Messer, Vivian Thingelstad (guest)

Reciprocity of License Revision - Rita Schuster brought to the committee a ND/MN reciprocity issue. She has an agent who is moving to ND from MN and they are having issues with their license. Claus reported that this issue has been raised and they are looking into the law.

Other Possible Legislative Issues - Issues with appraisers and the AMC were brought up. Nothing, at this time, has been brought to the legislature.

Discussion and Review of 2012 Committee Goals - The goals were reviewed.

Policy Manual Review - The committee was asked to look at the manual and have any changes/suggestions ready for when Jill, Claus, and Greg do their roundtables in the fall.

Committee members were challenged by Leadership to have all committees at 100% participation for RPAC. The Political Affairs committee is at 94%.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by: Suzanne Wetz, Executive Assistant