

## **North Dakota Association of REALTORS®**

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

## 2010 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Rita Schuster, ABR, CRS, GRI

> PRESIDENT ELECT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT
Diana Zietz, ABR, CRS, GRI

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

PAST PRESIDENT

Dave Lanpher, ABR, CRS, ePRO, GRI

NATIONAL DIRECTORS

Tate Cymbaluk

Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT

Andy Mahowald, CRS, GRI

*LOCAL BOARD REPS* <u>Badlands:</u> Becky Thorpe, GRI

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Greg Larson, GRI Lynnell Strothman, CRS, GRI Doug Schonert, GRI

Fargo-Moorhead:
Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS
LuAnn White, ABR, CRS
Scott Breidenbach, GRI
Lyn Dwyer, GRI
Bob Lee, GRI
Stephanie Sarabakhsh, ABR, GRI

<u>Grand Forks:</u> Mavis Winkels, CRS, GRI Jim Dunavan, CRS, GRI

> <u>Jamestown:</u> Tish Johnson

<u>Minot:</u> Wade Williamson, ABR Marsha Mugaas, ABR, CRS, GRI

> Wahpeton-Breckenridge: Donna Keogh, CRS

> > <u>Williston:</u> Kim Visser

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT
Jill Beck
Jill@ndrealtors.com

EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT
Moni Krantz

Moni Krantz Moni@ndrealtors.com

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS
DIRECTOR
Claus Lembke
Claus@ndrealtors.com

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT
Suzanne Wetz
uzanne@ndrealtors.com

Political Affairs Committee Grand International Inn, Minot, ND June 8, 2010

Present: Jerry Schlosser, Greg Larson, Diana Zietz, Jason Hanson, Vicki Roller,

Arlene Volk, Ron Volk, Bob Lee, Stephanie Sarabakhsh, Dewey Uhlir, Sharon Lunski, Connie Osowski, Jerry Youngberg, Jennifer Hogue,

Denise Messmer

Absent: Steve Lunde, Diane Duchscher, Ninetta Wandler, Cindy Cooper, Linda

Hixson Maixner, Jack Kavaney, Joel Maixner, Joe Sheehan, Mary Splichal, Shana Haugen, Elise Johnson, Cindi Kouba, Norm Aldinger,

Steve Diederick, Tate Cymbaluk

Guests: Lorrie Nantt, Jim Dunavan, Todd Anhorn, Judy Gehrke, Scott

Breidenbach, Scott Louser, Gary Kramlich, Amy Splichal, Suzy Shook, Gerry Allen (NAR), Karin Haskell, Peggy Isakson, LuAnn White, Sally McCravey, Lyn Dwyer, Doug Schonert, Larry Louser, Wade Williamson,

Julie Albertson, John Colter, Rita Schuster, Daryl Braham

Staff: Claus Lembke, Jill Beck, Moni Krantz

The meeting was called to order by Chair Jerry Schlosser and members were introduced.

Minutes from the March 24, 2010 meeting were reviewed and approved as presented. (M/S/C)

The list of those companies participating in the Broker Involvement Program was reviewed. There are a few offices that have not yet finalized the process and are missing from the online list. Staff will follow up with them. About 40 offices in ND are participating in this program.

Policy Booklet like MN

Claus Lembke, Government Affairs Director, reviewed items that may be possible legislative issues for the 2011 session: wind rights leases, property & school tax relief, and private transfer fees.

Gerry Allen, with NAR's Community and Political Affairs division, spoke on the programs available from NAR and local board were encouraged to take advantage of these programs.

A motion was made that NDAR ask NAR to initiate drafting of sample legislation that prohibits private transfer fees in ND and that this committee supports and asks the Board to support legislation that prohibits the use of private property transfer fees. (M/S/C)

Statistics from the three NAR Calls for Action in 2010 were reviewed. ND was at or above 25% for the two that were closed by the time of this meeting.

The committee is currently at 75% participation for RPAC. Leadership set a goal of 100% and the deadline is July 1, 2010.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Moni Krantz Executive Assistant