

2011

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

PRESIDENT ELECT Diana Zietz, ABR, CRS, GRI, SFR

> VICE PRESIDENT Scott Breidenbach, GRI

> DIRECTOR AT LARGE Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

PAST PRESIDENT Rita Schuster, ABR, CRS, GRI, SFR

NATIONAL DIRECTORS Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI Dave Lanpher, ABR, CRS, ePRO, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Lynn Leegard, GRI

> LOCAL BOARD REPS <u>Badlands:</u> Susie Lefor, GRI

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Lynnell Strothman, CRS, GRI Dennis Kaiser, GRI Doug Schonert, GRI

Fargo-Moorhead:
LuAnn White, ABR, CRS
Todd Anhorn
Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS
Bob Lee, ePRO, GRI, SFR
Steve Lunde, CRS
Vivian Thingelstad

<u>Grand Forks:</u> Jim Dunavan, CRS, GRI Laurel Haake, GRI

> <u>Jamestown:</u> Mike Swartz

> > Minot:

Marsha Mugaas, ABR, CRS, ePRO, GRI, SFR Cindy Harvey, ABR, ePRO

> <u>Wahpeton-Breckenridge:</u> Jared Miller

> > Williston: Kim Visser, SFR

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT Jill Beck

Jill@ndrealtors.com

EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT
Moni Krantz
Moni@ndrealtors.com

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS DIRECTOR Claus Lembke Claus@ndrealtors.com

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT
Suzanne Wetz
Suzanne@ndrealtors.com

North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

Minutes Political Affairs April 26, 2011

Present: Jerry Schlosser, Scott Breidenbach, Ninetta Wandler, Vicki Roller, Mary

Splichal, Arlene Volk, Ron Volk, Bob Lee, Steph Sarabakhsh, Dewey Uhlir, Laurel Haake, Jerry Youngberg, Norm Aldinger, Mike Swartz,

Connie Lord, Denise Messmer, Shelly Zach

Absent: Greg Larson, Steve Lunde, Diane Duchscher, Shirley Dukart, Jason

Hanson, Neal Messer, Kerry Carpenter, Dave Hoerner, Melanie Heck, Linda Hixson-Maixner, Jack Kavaney, Brian Kraft, Joe Sheehan, Doug Schonert, Jim Dunavan, Elsie Johnson, Cindi Kouba, Sharon Lunski, Connie Osowski, Mavis Winkels, Gary Kramlich, Tate Cymbaluk

Guests: Larry Louser, Donna Keogh, Nancy Deichert, Susie Lefor, Bob Karn, Sally

McCravey, Kevin Fisher, Lyn Dwyer, Casey Chapman, Judy Gehrke, Mary Goroski, Kim Kelsh, Donna Higginbotham, Guy Miller, Steve Diederick, Jared Miller, Rita Schuster, Patsy Dombovy, LuAnn White, Doris Hill, Amy Hullet, Lore Schneider, Kathy Hammer, Bruce Howland, John Colter, Dave Lanpher, Randy Schwartz, Barb Grande, Diana Zietz, Todd

Anhorn, Dawn Lahlum, John Gall, Gerry Allen

Staff: Jill Beck, Claus Lembke, Moni Krantz

The meeting was called to order by Chair Jerry Schlosser.

Minutes from February 7, 2011 were reviewed and approved as presented. (M/S/C)

NDAR Leadership has issued a challenge to all committees for 100% participation in RPAC. At this point, only five committee members have not invested in RPAC this year.

Scott Breidenbach gave special thanks to Chair Jerry Schlosser and Vice-Chair Greg Larson for their extra help during the Legislative Session.

An update on the Broker Involvement Program was given. Currently there are 60 offices signed up with 1,035 agents. The NAR goal set for ND is to have 1,281 agents. The Executive Committee is pushing to meet this goal and asking for help in reaching the offices needed to sign up for the program.

Claus Lembke, Government Affairs Director, reviewed bills that NDAR tracked this session. (see attached report)

NDAR Legal Counsel Casey Chapman reviewed the Agency Bill (SB 2149) that passed the Legislature and how it will affect licensees. He is urging NDAR to recommend Administrative Rule Changes with the ND Real Estate Commission that will reflect the

Our focus in 2011 is "It's All About YOU", the member. Our goals are to:

- improve communication to and from the Association to you
- develop innovative services and support in technology for you
- increase the efficiency of the business of the Association and for your business

Legislative changes. It was consensus of the group to have Chair Jerry Schlosser bring this to the Commission's attention at their meeting on April 27.

Gerry Allen, NAR Community Outreach Manager, gave an overview of Federal talking points with an emphasis on the Mortgage Interest Deduction issue.

The group expressed their appreciation to Jill Beck and Claus Lembke for their hard work and efforts at the Legislature.

Respectfully submitted,

Moni Krantz, Executive Assistant