

2012 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Diana Zietz, ABR, CRS, GRI, SFR

> PRESIDENT ELECT Scott Breidenbach, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Cindi Kouba, ABR, CRS, GRI

PAST PRESIDENT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

NATIONAL DIRECTORS Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Jo Jenkins, CRB, CRS

> LOCAL BOARD REPS <u>Badlands:</u> Susie Lefor, GRI

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Dennis Kaiser, GRI Kristi Bohl, GRI Doug Schonert, GRI Lynnell Strothman, CRS, GRI

> <u>Fargo-Moorhead:</u> Todd Anhorn Kevin Fisher, CRS, GRI Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS LuAnn White, ABR, CRS Bob Lee, ePRO, GRI, SFR Vivian Thingelstad

<u>Grand Forks:</u> Laurel Haake, GRI David Blumkin, ABR, CRS, GRI Jim Dunavan, CRS, GRI

> <u>Jamestown:</u> Donna Higginbotham

> > <u>Minot:</u> Todd Fettig Ashleigh Collins

<u>Wahpeton-Breckenridge:</u> Jared Miller

> <u>Williston:</u> Linda Novak, SFR

STAFF: Jill Beck, Chief Executive Officer Jill@ndrealtors.com

Moni Krantz, *Executive Assistant* <u>Moni@ndrealtors.com</u>

Claus Lembke, Gov't Affairs Director Claus@ndrealtors.com

Suzanne Wetz, Administrative Assistant

North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

Political Affairs Minutes February 22, 2012 Doublewood Inn, Bismarck

Present: Greg Larson, Dave Lanpher, Vicki Roller, Jerry Schlosser, Diane Duchscher, Shirley Dukart, Linda Hixson-Maixner, Dave Hoerner, Joe Sheehan, Ron Volk, Dewey Uhlir, Laurel Haake, Sharon Lunski, Connie Osowski, Mike Swartz, Denise Messmer, Clyde Thorne, Tate Cymbaluk, Rep Scott Louser

Absent: Neal Messer, Ginny Corwin, Jack Kavaney, Arlene Volk, Bob Lee, Mavis Winkels, Jerry Youngberg, Gary Kramlich, Shelly Zach

Guests: Casey Chapman, Todd Fettig, Danette Krumwiede, Dennis Kaiser, Nancy Deichert, Diana Zietz, Mike McEown, Pat Jergenson, Daryl Braham, Doug Schonert

Staff: Jill Beck, Claus Lembke

Chair Greg Larson called the meeting to order. Committee members and guests were introduced.

Minutes from the December 1, 2011 meeting were reviewed and approved as presented.

Goals for the year for this committee were reviewed.

Discussion was held regarding Measure 2: No Property Tax – training session to be held following this meeting.

Good Funds update – Claus asked that members provide updates of how it is working (or not working) at the local level.

The NDAR Jurisdiction map was reviewed. This has been updated to reflect the new political districts.

The issues from the Farm Bureau and possible Rent Control legislation (that some are discussing) were reviewed. It was consensus of the group to allow our Government Affairs Director, Claus Lembke, to monitor these issues and keep the committee informed.

It was suggested we use the National Call for Action program for the next state Legislative session. The Legislators will be using iPads and laptops. Staff will investigate the possibility of this.

NDAR is on track to achieve the NAR Triple Crown award again this year. The requirements include percent of participation (achieved), meeting the fair share goal (achieved), and major investors (halfway to goal).

Those present were asked to encourage more participation in the Broker Involvement Program. NDAR needs 44 more agents to meet this year's goal.



A session on the My REALTOR[®] Party program is scheduled for March 14 with Bill Malkasian from NAR. Local Boards are encouraged to attend. NAR has funding available.

Scott Louser, NAR VP & Liaison to Government Affairs, gave an update on Federal Issues.

As a ND Legislator, Scot Louser is looking at introducing a Bill in the next session that will ban transfer taxes on real estate transactions. A motion was made to request support of the Board of Directors for this process. (M/S/C)

Committee members were challenged by Leadership to have all committees at 100% participation for RPAC. It is early in the fundraising year, but there are several committee members who haven't invested yet.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by: Claus Lembke, Government Affairs Director