

# North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011

www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

## 2013 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Scott Breidenbach, GRI

PRESIDENT ELECT Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

> VICE PRESIDENT Greg Larson, GRI

DIRECTOR AT LARGE Cindy Harvey, ABR, CRS, ePro, SRES

 $\begin{array}{c} PAST\ PRESIDENT \\ \text{Diana\ Zietz,\ ABR,\ CRS,\ GRI,\ SFR} \end{array}$ 

NATIONAL DIRECTORS Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI

LOCAL BOARD REPS
<u>Badlands:</u>
Lorrie Nantt, ABR, SFR

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u>
Kristi Bohl, GRI
Bob Johnson, GRI
Dennis Kaiser, GRI
Mary Shelkey Miller, SFR

Fargo-Moorhead:
Kevin Fisher, CRS, GRI
Jeff Shipley, GRI
Todd Anhorn
Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS
Bob Lee, ePRO, GRI, SFR
DeAnn Mason

Grand Forks: David Blumkin, ABR, CRS, GRI Weezie Potter, ABR, GRI Laurel Haake, GRI

> <u>Jamestown:</u> Alison Schumann

<u>Minot:</u> Ashleigh Collins Danette Krumwiede

<u>Wahpeton-Breckenridge:</u> Steve Diederick, GRI, CRS

> <u>Williston:</u> Kassie Groder

STAFF: Jill Beck, Chief Executive Officer Jill@ndrealtors.com

Suzanne Wetz, Executive Assistant Suzanne@ndrealtors.com

Claus Lembke, Gov't Affairs Director Claus@ndrealtors.com Minutes

Board of Directors November 29, 2012

Members: 2012 BOD – Diana Zietz, Scott Breidenbach, Vicki Roller, Daryl Braham, Dewey Uhlir,

Dennis Kaiser, Kristi Bohl, Mary Shelkey Miller (for Doug Schonert), Lynnell Strothman, Todd Anhorn, Kevin Fisher, LuAnn White, Peggy Isakson, Bob Lee, Vivian Thingelstad, Laurel Haake, David Blumkin, Weezie Potter (for Jim Dunavan), Alison Scuhmann (for Donna Meidinger), Steve Diederick (for Jared Miller), Danette

Krumwiede (for Todd Fettig)

2013 BOD – Scott Breidenbach, Vicki Roller, Greg Larson, Cindy Harvey, Diana Zietz, Daryl Braham, Dewey Uhlir, Kristi Bohl, Bob Johnson, Dennis Kaiser, Mary Shelkey-Miller, Kevin Fisher, Jeff Shipley, Todd Anhorn, Peggy Isakson, Bob Lee, DeAnne Mason, David Blumkin, Weezie Potter, Laurel Haake, Alison Schumann, Danette

Krumwiede, Steve Diederick

Absent: 2012 BOD – Ashleigh Collins, Cindi Kouba, Susie Lefor, Scott Louser, Kassie

Gorder

2013 BOD – Ashleigh Collins, Lorrie Nantt, Kassie Gorder

Guests: Pat Jergenson, Mary Goroski, Ben Schroeder, Todd Randall, Casey Chapman,

John Colter, Nancy Deichert, Judy Gehrke, Mike Anderson (NDHFA)

Staff: Jill Beck, Suzanne Wetz, Claus Lembke

2012 President Diana Zietz called the meeting to order. Welcome and introductions were done.

2013 NDAR President Scott Breidenbach gave the Invocation and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The ratification of local board appointments were approved as presented. They are listed below. M/S/C

# RPAC Trustees (3 year term):

Sharon Lunski, Grand Forks Shelly Zach, Wahpeton Breckenridge Mike Swartz, Jamestown

#### Issues Mobilization (3 year term):

Dave Hoerner, Bismarck Jim Dunavan, Grand Forks Mike Swartz, Jamestown

### RETA (3 year term):

DeAnn Mason, Fargo Moorhead Josh Ressler, Minot



## **Federal Political Coordinators**

For Senator Heitkamp

Mary Splichal, Aladdin Realty, Bismarck Mandan Board of REALTORS®

For Senator John Hoeven

Tate Cymbaluk, Basin Brokers, Williston Board of REALTORS®

For Representative Kevin Cramer

Greg Larson, Century 21 Morrison Realty, Bismarck Mandan Board of REALTORS®

A motion was made to endorse Bill Brown (CA) for 2015 NAR 1st Vice President and Elizabeth Mendenhall (MS) for 2016 NAR 1st Vice President. M/S/C

2012 NDAR President Diana Zietz gave her presidents report. Under her report, she discussed the following items:

- -She attended National Convention and that ND received the Presidents Cup, it is the 100th anniversary of the Code of Ethics; a ceremony and other events have been planned to celebrate at the national level, Jill was selected to be the NAR Vice Chair to the State AE Forum, Daryl Braham, Fargo Moorhead, was installed at the National Convention as the Region 8 RVP, Rob Mehta, MN, dropped out of the RVP race for 2015 against Jeff Nelson, SD. Jeff will now be the RVP in 2015.
- -Staffing The assessment by NAR is on-schedule. We will have a final report back by the week of December 17.
- -A broker call was held earlier this year
- -National Committee appointments will be out mid-December.
- -NDAR will be receiving \$13,000-\$15,000 from the Badlands Board of REALTORS from the income of the ND/SD REALTOR Convention of the Dakotas.
- -She recognized committee chairs and staff.

2013 Gavel Transfer - 2012 President Diana handed the gavel to 2013 President Scott Breidenbach, who then lead the rest of the meeting.

The 2013 Board of Directors was then seated.

2011 NDAR President Daryl Braham presented 2012 President Diana a Presidents recognition gift. She shared some comments on her presidency.

Casey Chapman, Legal Counsel, did a short orientation for the new 2013 Board of Directors. He reminded them they are governed by NDAR's bylaws, Policy and Procedures, Public Policy Statement, Conflict of Interest statement, and Whistleblower policy. They should not be afraid to ask questions, admit you don't know. You need to be loyal to decision and loyal and respectful to dissent. You are here for the greater good of the Association and need to be obedient. Stay informed, be informed, and make good faith decisions. Boards were all given copies of policies that govern the Association.

The consent agenda was approved. M/S/C Items on it listed as:

- a. Minutes from October 11, 2012 meeting
- b. Local Board Reports
- c. Calendar of Upcoming Events
- d. Legal Hotline Update Casey Chapman, Legal Counsel
- e. RE Commission Update Pat Jergenson, Executive Director
- f. CRS Chapter Report Faith Wendt
- g. Life Membership Gary Kramlich, Minot

2013 President Breidenbach gave his presidents report. He touched on:

- -Legislative issues across the state and encouraged people to get involved,
- -The Leadership Retreat that was held in October,
- -Staffing assessment from NAR and thanked Scott Louser and Daryl Braham for the roles at NAR,

- -He thanked the previous FPCs and welcomed the new FPCs, Greg Larson for Representative Kevin Cramer, Mary Splichal for Senator Heidi Heitkamp, and Tate Cymbaluk for Senator John Hoeven,
- -He reminded everyone to come to Bismarck on February 5 for Legislative Impact Day,
- -He will be asking for a motion at the upcoming board meeting on the Non-Dues income project,
- -He plans to make trips to all the local boards and visit with members.

The NAR travel reports were reviewed.

Jill gave a staff report. The financials are on track. She touched on aspects of the budget. They are:

- -The education line item will increase once the December education is over and a transfer has been made from the education account,
- -The convention income will be coming from Dickinson so that will show a profit of \$13,000 to \$15,000,
- -There will be a few more marketing requests funded, but that program has not been funded for 2013,
- -The Leadership travel line item will increase because not all travel is in currently,
- -The state meeting line item will be over budget, as the price of meeting space has increased,
- -The Legal and Accounting line item is over budget due to the temporary staff salary has been put there, per the accountant.

Mike Anderson from ND Housing Finance Agency gave a report on upcoming legislation coming from their agency and the Housing Incentive Fund.

A motion was made to again to support Tom Salomone for 2014 NAR First Vice President. A letter will be sent to NAR stating such.

Committee reports were given by each committee chair.

A motion was made to strike the goal "Replace GAD ASAP" from the 2013 goals list. M/S/C

A motion was made to approve the goals with modification made. M/S/C

The meeting was adjourned.